Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Comes out: September 13, 2011*
Pages: 320
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Format: ARC
Source: Inkwood
Age Group: Young Adult
Buy It On Amazon:

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Recommended for Ages

12 and Up

These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume.
—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didnt take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didnt anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, shes fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone shes forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

Juliet Immortal was the electric story of how one of the most potent loves turned to hate. Juliet was betrayed by her true love, and was killed. She was brought back to life as a vessel to spread light and goodwill. She is supposed to make true love happen instead of being dead by her own botched love.

Romeo will do anything to stop her. They fight each other; each encounter is more agonizing than the last as memories of their romance linger. They were supposed to love each other forever but now they are filled with hate. Romeo and Juliet just want to destroy the other one.

When Juliet is sent on a new assignment, she doesnt expect to fall in love. Even more tantalizing than her forbidden romance with Romeo, this one is forbidden for a different reason. Her assignment is to pair up couples that are supposed to be true love; her love is already supposed to be paired up with somebody: her best friend as a human.

When Romeo catches wind of what Juliet has done, he is determined to keep her from her love. Perhaps it is jealousy; perhaps it is anger; perhaps it is just the hate left over from their true love. One thing is for sure, this passionate novel is not to be missed.

My personal thoughts about this novel are sure to be echoed by many teenagers (and even adults) reading this novel. Romeo and Juliet is incredibly romantic, and like The Notebook, I cant help but be sucked in by the promise of true, passionate love filled with agony and longing and.you get the picture. Forbidden romance is an alluring prospect, and Stacey Jay seemed to turn it completely around. I was curious.

I found this at Inkwood, my indie bookstore. They, being incredibly generous and awesome, said that I could review it for them. I took it with me to camp, and found it the perfect read for several rainy days. I pored over the details and the love and my climbing instructor had to take it away from me while I was reading during activities (Hi Jordan!).

But before that to be honest I found it a little hard to get into. The premise was interesting but it didnt grab me immediately. It took me a while to relax into the book and for it to flow for a little bit.

I really loved Juliet. She was perfect for the book. I didnt really like her that much in the original Romeo and Juliet, but her personality was lovely in this twist.

I loved how Romeo and Juliet cant decide whether the love between them is still there. How can love so quickly transition into incredible loathing? There seemed to be a blurred line of it all through the book, and I really enjoyed hearing about it. Personally, what with my age, I havent ever experienced love but I like hearing about it. Imagining it. In fact, thats probably one of the reasons why I like books like this so much.

The characters were outstanding. Romeo was perfect; Juliet was perfect; they were all perfect for the book, not in an annoying way. Sometimes its nice to have a few flawed characters, and we saw that, but the characters were well-rounded and magnificent.

The plot progressed very quickly once we got past a slump in the beginning. I wouldnt necessarily say that it had a lot of action, but there was some and it still was intense. There was a perfect balance of emotional intensity and plot twists and such, but the entire way through had tension.

The writing was exhilarating. The description was lovely and Stacey had a talent for developing characters. The delicate balance of flashbacks and current events could be slightly disorienting at the beginning, but like the plot, got better as the story went on.

Some pages also felt simply like filler pages, like Stacey Jay didnt know what to do with them, but then something out of the blue would happen to propel me back into the story. It felt kind of give-and-take.

It felt to me like the danger was slightly downplayed and I would have liked to have seen some more history woven in there, but I liked it. Sometimes it didnt feel very memorable, but I think that it may be talked about a lot later in the year. It was enjoyable and I really liked the romance and hate throughout it. A definite high part of the book was the emotions.

Romantic, dangerous, and electrifying, Juliet Immortal was one of the most passionate books that I have read this year. I would recommend it to anybody who enjoys dark romance and thrills.

Recommended to anybody who loves: Prophecy of the Sisters; Romeo and Juliet; Fallen; forbidden romance; dark romance; danger; etc,.

Possible book club questions:

Why are so many Shakespearan stories remade?
How is Juliets personality different over time (as opposed to the original)?
How can love turn to hate? How is this blurred line explored in many books?
Why would Romeo be jealous?
Gemma usually gets what she wants. Do you think she may have been possessive of Ben?
How was Juliet blind to the connection of Gemmas true love?

etc,.

*reviews occurring longer than a month before release will be reposted closer to the release date

