The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

Came out: April 12, 2011
Pages: 384
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Format: Paperback
Source: BookSneeze
Age Group: Adult

The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

 

 

An epic tale of good and evil based on the four horsemen of the Apocalypse found in the book of Revelation.

Using the four horsemen of the Apocalypse to symbolize the four Gospels, four transcendentals, and four forces of the universe (air, water, earth, and fire), Sweet and Wagner weave a fast-paced, end-times tale of good vs. evil and the promise of a new dawn for humanity.

Set in 2048, when planet Earth is suffering from the damaging effects of years of misuse and abuse, cultural history professor Paul Binder receives a mysterious letter that leads him to examine a lost 2nd-century Diatessaron manuscript. Ancient prophecies, cryptic letters, and strange events set him on a course to uncover the missing clues that could lead humanity into a new age. Each character embodies elements of the four horsemen in a race to save the world from total destruction. Layered with forgotten symbolism from the ancient, Jewish, and Christian traditions, the novel is a type of engaged fiction in which the main characters lost journal serves as a guide to the reader in interpreting clues and understanding the novels conclusion.

This book was really confusing. I dont mean that the climax was confusing, or the biblical comparisons. I mean, THE ENTIRE THING. I didnt know what was going on with any of it. The entire time, I was going in mental circles, trying to figure it out.

I was determined to finish it though. The only problem for me OTHER than the obvious was that the description built it up to be this epic Angels-and-Demons type book that was sure to astound readers everywhere. It made it sound filled with action, adventure, and a crafty plot that was unique and sure to be a hit.

I was disappointed. I didnt find the *wow* factor that I was looking for, and so I kind of moped for a while. I spent ages waiting for  this to arrive in the mail because I am a HUGE fan of angels. But alas, my expectations were dashed.

Im sure that some people will find this amazing, but Ive read far greater books and was sadly disappointed. I am a fan of Thomas Nelson books, but I didnt like this one. At the risk of boring you guys with my complaints about the book, Im going to end this review. Other people may love it, who knows? But there wasnt a bang climax, it was a quiet sizzle.

I suggest that anybody looking for a great adult angel book head over to Angels and Demons or Angelology. Those books give you bang for your buck and are spectacular.

No book club questions for this novel.

No recommendations.

