Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts

Hey yall!
Im sorry I dont have a review for you today. Ive been working on two, but Im fleshing them out a bit more, and Ive been working on my writing recently. However, later this week there should be several much-anticipated ones, so keep your eyes open! There are a ton of books that Im excited about in this post, so excuse the flood of exclamation points!
As for the meme, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. As you can tell from the title, this weeks prompt is Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts. I hope you enjoy!

vampire academy richelle mead

1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone

This is such an engrossing, atmospheric story that I cant help but want to shove it on everybody. Every single person that comes to mind that I have to think of gifts for of my friends would love this book. I might have to purchase copies for a few of them. Its such a clever idea, and its so richness in its setting and the lore behind it! I cant help but be obsessed with this book, even though it released a few months ago.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I know so many guys who have been pining after books like The Hunger Games. The only reason that they havent picked this one yet is that it isnt enough AR points to hold their attention, because when you get to 50 AR points at my school, you get to drop your lowest grade. Although, I think that for me this might be just as good as The Hunger Games. Everything about this book was just amazing!

3. Legend by Marie Lu

I got the opportunity to read an ARC of this over the summer, and this had me spellbound. Its much more political than I believe The Hunger Games and Divergent were, but thats where its strength lies. Im a huge fan of this book, and I have to admit, Im bummed that it hasnt generated as much of a buzz yet! Its incredibly worthy of a gift for somebody.

4. Die for Me by Amy Plum

A few of my friends have the same addiction to paranormal romance as I do and they gasped when I told them about it. A paranormal romance book set in Paris? It sounds incredible to them. Its so enchanting and gorgeous and achingly romantic, with enough sword-fights and action to keep most people interested. I loved this book, and it now ranks among my favorites. I think that my girlfriends would love it just as much as I did if I end up getting copies for them.

5. Penguin Classics

I have another friend (this post is mostly focusing on my friends if you havent noticed already) that loves classics. I definitely admire her for that because I have a handful that I reread, while others seem to bore me to tears. I must say that my favorites would have to be Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Peter Pan, etc,. These ones have such adorable covers.

6. Crossed by Ally Condie

I have friends who are absolutely addicted to this series. I played around with the word addicted while talking about Die for Me but my friends are like vultures when it comes to this series. They eagerly awaited with a countdown to November 1, where they could snatch up copies for themselves. I have a few friends who havent had the opportunity to read this yet, so I may have to give this to them.

7. Bunheads by Sophie Flack

This is a book that I would consider for my dance teacher. I have already lent her a copy of my ARC of Bunheads, but I think that shed love to have her own copy. This author was a dancer in the New York City ballet for years, so she definitely portrays her intense love of dance and she gets it. Non-dancers dont understand what dancers feel when we dance, but Sophie Flack portrays that so clearly and greatly that I cant help but recommend this to every dancer I meet who likes to read.

8. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I am positively itching to get somebody else I know to read the  series. I know a few, but not nearly enough have read this. A lot of people I know write it off as oh, another vampire book, but its so much more than that. This book has action, love, hate, lust, travels, danger, friendship, everything possible to contain in a YA novel, it feels like. Im in love with this series, and it almost acts as an icon for what many other series would like to be. Every book is a knockout.

9. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

I honestly want to give every adult and teen I know this book. I picked this for my top ten not only because its my favorite book, but one that I genuinely feel would connect with the people Im looking at for gifts. This book is simply breathtaking, and theres so much I could say about it. I say adults also because its one of those rare crossover books that appeals to the mainstream adult market as well. Im speechless when I think about this book.

10. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

I have heard fantastic things about this book. I know that its a very popular picks for book clubs and is on many favorites and must read shelves in bookstores. So many people have gushed to me about this book that I think it would make many people I know incredibly happy to open it on Christmas. Personally, I have not read it, but I want to so badly. It sounds emotional, poignant, well-written, languid. Even that title catches your attention.

Thank yall for reading today, and I hope I just gave you a few ideas for your Christmas gifts!

Grace

