Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging (Audiobook)

Written by Louise Rennison
Narrated by Stina Nelson
Release Date: June 13, 2007
Length: 5 hours
Format: Discs

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging

There are six things very wrong with my life:

1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.

2. It is on my nose.

3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.

4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.

5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.

6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive. 
In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst of being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Joness Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, its Fabbity fab fab!

Let it be known that this is my first audiobook. So if you’re looking for someone with expertise in the area, I’m afraid that I’m not your girl. Keep in mind that I’m still growing my blog, and learning along the way. Hopefully as I receive and listen to more audiobooks, I can tailor my reviews to fit with what I think y’all want to hear, and what stood out to me the most.

I originally wanted an audiobook because then I could read while doing homework (yes, I want to read all the time!) and I’m an insomniac. It’s very soothing, and I thought it might help me fall asleep. Let it be known that it is working, and I love it. It’s wonderful to be able to listen to a book and absorb the meaning, hearing every word as if it were true.

I think that I will pursue more audiobooks as I continue in my blogging and reading, to both fall asleep to, for long car rides, and while doing other things. It’s relaxing, and is an almost instant stress reliever.

ANGUS THONGS AND FULL FRONTAL SNOGGING is the story of fourteen year old Georgia, looking for first kisses and navigating friendships. From dressing as a stuffed olive for a costume party to get a laugh, to pretending to be French, to shaving off her eyebrows, nothing seems to be going her way.

First of all, let’s talk about the sound. The narrator is very matter-of-fact, with great emphasis on the right words, and I can imagine her being younger and being Georgia. She slips into the character very well. Plus (and here I think is the best part) y’all know that Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging takes place in Britain right? The narrator has the most lovely British accent and she’s perfect for the part.

I thought that with audiobooks, I would be annoyed with the pace. For one, looking at my “ABOUT ME” page, you might see that I read about three to five books per day, with the exception of especially busy days when I have dance (until 9:30). Usually I can crank out a book, or half a book. It honestly depends on how much homework my teachers give me (if you’re reading this, hear my plea!). Anyways, I found myself actually pleased with the pace. It isn’t very fast, but isn’t slow either. It’s actually kind of nice to listen for a while. I would listen to it in the car on the way to dance or before I fell asleep.

The only thing about audiobooks is that I think that I would rather listen to a contemporary or a light fantasy than an intense novel. I thought that ANGUS THONGS AND FULL FRONTAL SNOGGING might be a good first pick because it’s a lighthearted contemporary with entertaining subplots. This is one of the few novels where I had watched the movie before reading the book. In case you are wondering, the movie is hilarious.

The plot is just as hilarious as I remember it, but Georgia also reflects on many topics. It is still lighthearted, but more thoughtful than the movie makes it out to be. I like how it’s formatted like a diary, because it does sound like a video or recorded diary, almost like reality. I like how she says the time and the plot is easy to follow.

Georgia is a bit shallow, but more observant than people generally give her credit for. I’m not going to lie and say that she’s DEEP and really thoughtful, but she does think about her surroundings a lot. I love hearing about her various escapades with boys and friendships because it’s the hilarious eat-it-up book that you just love to read all the time. If this were a paperback, it’d probably be battered and beat-up by now, falling apart.

What can I say? I’m honestly obsessed with this book.

She also touches on some topics that actually do come up in teenage conversation: the possibility of her being a lesbian (jokingly), rumors, drama, sex. Although it isn’t touched upon heavily enough to call it “tough stuff” or “edgy”, it does provide a very real feel to it and it is wonderful to hear because it’s lighter. It was very honest.

Sometimes Georgia could be rather blind to the people around her while still being in tune with her surroundings. She would say things like parents being useless or teachers not understanding that they had more important things to do like talk with their mates. I don’t mean this in a bad way because it was really entertaining. I meant that some girls will identify with Georgia’s softer side that just wanted to hang out with her mates and fall in love with boys.

This could be a funny read, a beach read, or just a satisfying book about a girl discovering who she is. I loved this book with my entire heart. Honestly, this is one of those classic girl books that you simply have to read when you grow up.

If I had read it in print, I probably would say that you should read it that way, but now that I’ve listened to the audiobook, I think y’all should to. It’s absolutely amazing! Stina Nelson is such a talented narrator. She really brings a character and spirit that perfectly embodies Georgia. The way she emphasizes certain paragraphs and says things in a certain way, she brings Georgia to life. Maybe something in Stina’s life makes her identify with Georgia or something because she CONNECTED with the story on a personal level. Some audiobook narrators almost speak in a monotone but not Stina. Trust me, you just have to hear it.

This is one of those books that every girl must read once in her lifetime. I’m definitely going to continue the series on audiobook if I can but this is one of the books with my highest recommendations. Just read it (or listen to it!)

Possible book club questions:

Were you like Georgia when you were her age?
Do you think that Jazz and Georgia’s friendship is how a friendship could be?
How honest do you think Georgia was being with herself throughout the book?

etc,.

