Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

New format. See reviews below for details :)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Inkwood
Release Date: October 4, 2011

Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

 

Their love was meant to be.

When Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland, everything in her life seems to fall into place. After growing up in America, shes surprised to find herself feeling at home in her new school. She connects with a group of friends, and she is instantly drawn to darkly handsome Adam DeRís.

But Megan is about to discover that her feelings for Adam are tied to a fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that brought them together could be their ultimate destruction.

Megan and her father moved to Ireland. She likes Irelandbut she has to start over, like she has done every time she moves. She knows not to get too attached because at a moments notice, they could end up moving again. Each time, she has to leave behind everything. In Ireland, she convinces herself that she wont get too attached. Shell go to school, have a few friends, and then leave again. She has no idea that everything will be different.

She doesnt want to get too attached. So why is she feeling so at home in Ireland? She doesnt know. Until she meets Adam.

Adam is that unapproachable boy, the one that nobodys ever dated, but that everybody likes to dream about. Hes the boy that you stare at longingly from the other side of the room and he doesnt even notice anybody else. He hasnt noticed anybody until Megan arrives.

When they meet each other, theyre instantly attracted. Its not only love at first sight, but as they make the descent deeper into the mysterious paranormal connection that they have, but that they are connected to a fate sealed long ago. They cant be together without disrupting an order determined thousands of years ago, connected to the bloodlines crisscrossing across the world, and a rare gene.

As they discover terrifying and beautiful truths together, they have to decide:

But how do you decide between love and destiny?

Leigh Fallon, I love you. Its official. First of all, Leigh Fallon is a complete inspiration. She is the first ever author to be discovered on Inkpop, a writing community online powered by HarperCollins publishers. She deserves a round of applause for her determination and inspiration alone!

I loved the setting. Leigh herself is Irish, so I was interested to see how that would affect the story. It is one thing for a person to be writing about another countrys legends or different traditions, but another thing entirely for somebody who has experienced them to be writing about them.

Ireland sounds gorgeous. Its always been one of those countries that I simply cant get enough of, and its definitely on my bucket list. Leigh managed to satisfy some of my curiosity.

I do wish that she had focused on the directly related to Ireland part of it more, when Megan first comes into Ireland and I wish that she had shown some of her first experiences in coming to Ireland, but other than that, she managed to pull together the setting quite well. It was lush and wet and everything I could have wanted to hear and more!

Megan was a solid main character. She wasnt amazing, but she wasnt awful either. She was pretty good. She had enough of a backbone where I didnt get annoyed with her, but at other times she seemed too much of a pushover. I like stronger main characters. She did interact with all of the curiosity and detachment of a new girl, while being one whos gone through the process a million times before. I could really tell that she didnt want to get attached to the new place in case she had to leave. I could see that she was kind of scared to experience Ireland.

I fell in love with Kinsale, and Leigh did a lovely job spotlighting it, and using the setting to manipulate the plot and create tension! She had the talent of a seasoned writer.

The whole idea of Carrier of the Mark was brilliant to me. I couldnt believe my luck in discovering a book that not only takes place in Ireland (sorry, I cant say that enough!) but is a completely new idea?! Sign me up! I was obsessed with the idea from the start.

I really liked Aine. She was my favorite character. Her mysterious aura was alluring and I couldnt help but be almost hypnotized by her. When Leigh Fallon talked about her, she seemed almost reverent of her. I felt like I should be whispering when I talked about her. She was the enigma of the story. She reminded me of Alice from Twilight but not as forward.

Okay, let me just get something out of the way here. You will probably see a lot of reviews comparing it to Twilight. Some people have bashed it and say its a ripoff. From somebody who has read the book and loved it, I can honestly tell you

It is not Twilight. It may be for FANS of Twilight, there may be SIMILARITIES to Twilight, but its an original idea pulled off very well, and it isnt a ripoff. I can almost guarantee that this book is going to be big among the same audience, but thats just because its brilliant.

I cannot emphasize enough how much I loved the setting! Not only was it the area, but it was the atmosphere. It was mysterious, with a bit of small-town, and a bit of a bigger picture. It was just great to read about. There was a lot of respect when talking about Adams family and people knew their way around.

Although on a darker subject matter, Leighs writing is very light-hearted. The nature of her writing makes what could be a heavier paranormal romance into a lighter, quicker read. Her writing was more of a simple beauty, understated and subtle, but still getting the point across in a very appealing way to the reader.

Adam was and I dont use this word lightly because my family reads this blog sexy. He was kind of your usual hero, but his passion drove him over the top. He was truly passionate about Megan and about his role in this prophecy. There was a lot more to him than meets the eye. If you think that hes stereotypical when you first meet him, your feelings will quickly change. He is protective, which could be endearing, but sometimes annoying, but had that sweet guy going through hard times vibe. He could be lighthearted and fun, but when times of trouble came, he was dead serious and insistent that none of his family got hurt. He could also be quirky, and I like my guys in books to be quirky.

Just a little side note: I already called dibs on representing Adam in the YA Crush Tourney next year, publicly declared and witnessed by all you Tweeps who follow me. Leigh also saw me call it, but I just wanted to stake my claim. Seriously, Adam is THAT amazing.

There were only a few negatives to my review, and I hope that yall wont take these too heavily because its an excellent book, although I just noticed a few little things.

Some supporting characters could be very stereotypical. Although Adam and Megan werent and a few of the more important supporting characters werent, she could have a tendency to ignore the smaller characters. If youre in a fantastic play, you dont only rehearse with the main characters and leave the small parts to scramble; you pull them together as a whole. For example, Megans father, Caitlin, some of her friendsthey all seemed the same as many characters in other books. I would have liked to see a little more creativity with them, but the main characters were beautifully done.

Also some points, when Fionn is first explaining the gene, I got lost and had to put the book down to think my way through the science of it all. I do wish that she had cleared some of it up or at least spread out the amount of information influx so it doesnt overwhelm the reader, I was happy that she put that much thought into it. Its just, it was maybe a little TOO much thought.

But while there were similar elements in her book that are already found in the YA genre, she already has so many thought-out and implemented changes and differences and twists that it really doesnt blend in too much. It keeps with the trends, but it isnt a blind follower.

I found myself biting my fingernails at the end, eagerly awaiting the next word, the next line, the next chapter. It was that book where I flew through the pages, so eager to read, but when I finished, I wish I could go back and re-experience the first read over again. I never wanted it to end, but I couldnt stop reading.

Overall, Carrier of the Marks incredible setting, different idea, and elegant simplicity in writing will land this novel on many shelves and TBR lists. This was a great addition to the YA paranormal romance genre, and I will be eagerly awaiting the sequel! This was an excellent start to Leighs career as an author and I cant wait to see how shes grown in her next book!

Recommendations to come.

Book club questions to come.

