Interview with Jennifer Echols

 Jennifer Echols
Hey yall!
I had the wonderful opportunity to interview Jennifer Echols and I hope yall enjoy it. Her most recent YA novel was Love Story but shes also written favorites such as The Boys Next Door and Going Too Far. You can see a complete list below (not in order).
Romantic Drama:
Going Too Far
Love Story
Forget You
Romantic Comedy:
The Boys Next Door
Endless Summer
The Ex Games
Major Crush
Heres our interview (Im in bold; Jennifers normal font). Sorry for the spacing issue, WordPress doesnt particularly like interviews and Im going to try as hard as possible to change that. Heres our interview:
Which do you prefer writing more drama or comedy?
I love writing both, and I think I would not love it so much if I had to do one all the time. Switching back and forth keeps both genres fresh for me.
Are some relationships in your books based off of real-life experiences?
No, the relationships are determined by the characters, which are determined by the plot, which is determined by the relationships Each book is its own animal.
Do you outline? If so, how?
I just dive in and start writing. I stop and plan if I get stuck.
What was your favorite book to write and why?
The Boys Next Door. I was kind of frustrated when I wrote it. I made the main character a lot like meso there!and laughed all the way through it. When I was done, I thought, “I love this book, but nobody else is going to, and my editor is going to hate it.” But she didn’t.
Your mailmando you love him or hate him (or her!)?
I love the ladies at my post office because I bring them huge piles of books to send to reviewers and they are very patient with me.
Whats your opinion on negative reviews? Do you read them or ignore them?
I have stopped reading reviews. I can’t consider everyone’s opinion and still write the book I want to read. With that said, I appreciate every review, whether it’s positive or negative. I am very grateful that someone took the time to read my book and share their opinion of it.
Whats your guilty pleasure reward after writing?
Shopping, haircut, pedicure! When I’m on deadline, I don’t have time to do anything for myself, and I look it.
For signings, do you prefer a book to be battered and well-loved or brand new and cared for?
Oh, it’s so wonderful to see someone come in with that battered paperback with the corners of the cover curled back!
How did you react when you found out that your debut was getting published or picked up by an agent?
When I first got an agent for Major Crush, I really did not have time to stop and celebrate. My son was three years old, my husband had already moved from Atlanta to Birmingham, I was trying to keep the house clean so we could sell it, and I was working from home as a copyeditor. It was a lot to handle by myself, and the agent actually had a hard time contacting me because my son and I had somehow managed to drop the phone in the bathtub.
Whats in your reading pile?
I just finished a wonderful YA paranormal called Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore, and I’m about to start Throat by R. A. Nelson.
What is the male character that youve written that youve most wanted to come to life?
Oooh, I’m about to start revising The One That I Want, which is coming out in December, and I’m really looking forward to revisiting Max. I think you guys are going to like Max.
Any advice for writers?
Write the book you want to read.
Thank you so much Jennifer for that amazing interview! It was so much fun and I cant wait for The One That I Want! 
Grace
